About Us

Board of Directors

OCANZ is governed by a Board of 8-10 Directors, comprising of registered optometrists, optometric educators and community members.

The Board meets 5 times per annum to set the strategic direction for OCANZ and oversee its operations.

The current Directors are:



Professor Alex Gentle

Director, Chair OCANZ Board

Professor Emeritus Leo Carney


Dr Andrew Collins

Director, Deputy Chair OCANZ Board

Mrs Shannon Davies

Director, Deputy Chair OCANZ Indigenous Strategy Taskforce

Professor Jennifer Craig


Associate Professor Isabelle Jalbert

Director, Chair OCANZ Examination Committee

Mr Tony Lund

Director, Chair OCANZ Finance & Risk Committee

Dr Linda Turner


Dr Lynn Weekes


Ms Katrina Yap



For more details about OCANZ governance read our annual reports.

OCANZ 2019 2

Pictured top row left to right are:
Associate Professor Isabelle Jalbert, Dr Andrew Collins, Ms Sian Lewis (OCANZ EO), Professor Alex Gentle, Dr Linda Turner

Pictured bottom row left to right are:
Mr Tony Lund, Ms Katrina Yap, Dr Lynn Weekes, Professor Emeritus Leo Carney (Absent: Mrs Shannon Davies, Professor Jennifer Craig)