About Us

The Optometry Council of Australia and New Zealand (OCANZ) was established in 1996 with support of the optometrists registration boards in Australia and New Zealand, the Heads of the Optometry Schools, Optometry Australia and the New Zealand Association of Optometrists. All are represented on OCANZ.

OCANZ assesses overseas optometry qualifications and conducts a competency-based examination for international optometrists. It also assesses, for the purposes of accreditation, the Australian and New Zealand optometry courses.

Board of Directors

Associate Professor Peter Hendicott (Chair)

Professor Emeritus Leo Carney

Dr Andrew Collins

Ms Wendy Hill

Associate Professor Robert Jacobs

Dr Isabelle Jalbert

Mr Anthony Lund

Dr Linda Turner

Dr Lynn Weeks


Ms Sian Lewis, Executive Officer

Ms Lisa Vella, Office Manager

Ms Susan Kelly, Accreditation Manager

Ms Tamara McKenzie, Examination Manager